Your best source for news in Huerfano | Las Animas | Colfax

Sports Briefs of December 7, 2017

TSJC Honors

by David Tesitor

TRINIDAD — The Tournament also awarded several honors to individuals and schools. On Wednesday, the cheerleader competition drew many fans and in the end, the squad from Hoehne was given top honors. Team awards went to the Raton girls and Manitou Springs boys for sportsmanship in the championship bracket and to the Hoehne boys and girls in the consolation bracket.

All Tournament selections for the girls included: Primero- Kirsten Martinez, Hoehne- Shaelyn Walton, Trinidad- Justis Dionisio, Raton- Andie Ortega, Springer- Hannah Burton and Alicia Arias, La Junta- Cassidy Jones, Hayden May, and Rylee Lovato. The boys all tourney selection included: Raton- Darian Lewis, Trinidad- Isiah Vigil, Primero- Joey Archuletta and Vince Damelio, Manitou Springs- Cole Sienknecht and Zachary Perry-Perkins and from La Junta- Cody Schrock, Jon Nuschy and Dyson Oquist.

Wrestling Briefs

by David Tesitor

Heavyweight gets Panthers win in Del Norte dual

DEL NORTE — The John Mall Panthers opened their 2017-18 wrestling season over the Del Norte Tigers last Thursday 39-35. As both teams are struggling to fill all weight classes, several forfeits contributed to the total points allotted. The results came in as follows: Dale VanMatre (106 pounds), Travis Vialpando (113), Zander Ross (120) won by forfeit.

Del Norte also won three matches by forfeit. Both teams were awarded 18 points. John Mall won the match based on face-to face competition.

The matches included Cobie Black (126-DN) over Miguel Sanchez (JM) by fall with seven seconds remaining in 5:53. A.J. Sandoval (132- JM) won a 10-8 decision Luis Soto 10-8. Brett Benavides (138-DN) over Anthony Aldretti (JM) in a technical fall 17-1 at the 4:14 mark. Trystan Estrada (152-JM) pinned Anthony Balderas at 4:21. Nick Griego (160-JM) pinned Keegan Medina in 0:57 seconds. Preston Terrell (182-DN) pinned Kaleb Rehm (JM) in 0:51 seconds. At 182 pounds was a double forfeit. In the final heavyweight match and for the dual win, Dylan Crump pinned Charlie Davis in 45 seconds for 6 points and the Panther victory.

Panthers in 5-way dual

ROCKY FORD — On Saturday the John Mall Panthers wrestled in a dual tournament in Rocky Ford. The teams consisted of some of the state’s top ranked teams from 2A-4A. The teams, their class, and state rankings, consisted of Rocky Ford- 2A- #1, John Mall- 2A- #5, Alamosa-3A-#3, Lamar- 3A – #5, Roosevelt 4A, Canon City-4A- #7, Pueblo Centennial (3A), Palmer, and Dumas TX (defending state champs in Texas).

Twelve Panthers wrestled against top notch competition. John Mall lost duals to Rocky Ford, Dumas, Alamosa, and Pueblo Centennial, but won many tough matches along the way. They also dueled Palmer and beat them.

Results in one dual against Pueblo Centennial are included.

At 106 pounds, Jacob Gonzales over Dale VanMatre (JM) by fall in 2:28. At 113- Dominick Castro over Travis Vialpando (JM) in a technical fall 18-2 in the third period. At 120- Leonardo Casalvilla over Zander Ross (JM) by TF 17-1; Miguel Sanchez at 126 (JM) over Troy Silver in a 7-5 decision; 138: Anthony Aldretti (JM) over Charles Medina in an 11-2 major decision. 152: Trystan Estrada (JM) over Raquan Robinson by pin in .28 seconds; 160: Jarett Nakamura over Nick Griego (JM) by fall in 4 minutes; 220: James Gallery over Henry Quintana (JM) by pin in 36 seconds and heavyweight Dylan Crump (JM) wins by pin over David Nixon in 3:20.

The Panthers will wrestle tonight at home against the Centauri Falcons- 3A-#7 before heading to Delta to wrestle in an Invitational tournament.

Trinidad wrestlers second at Peyton

PEYTON — Under the direction of new wrestling head coach Adam Ortivez, the Trinidad pinned their way into a second place finish against several 3A-4A schools last Saturday scoring 183.5 points. The Miners were bested by Cheyenne Mountain who ran away with the tournament with 220 points. Third was Sand Creek with 166.5 points, then Doherty with 142 and rounding out the top five was Peyton with 127.5 points. Trinidad claimed five top three finishers including three champions, two seconds and a third.

At 106 pounds, Alberto Felthager pinned Mason Micki of Coronado in 40 seconds. Felthager won all four of his bouts by pins, with the quickest pin in 24 seconds. The second Miner to claim gold was Guillermo Felthager at 120 pounds. G. Felthager pinned Coltin Doyle of Mesa Ridge as the match went down to the wire. With 13 seconds remaining in a close bout, Felthager put Doyle’s shoulders to the mat. He pinned four of his five opponents, with the quickest in 22 seconds.

The third champ came at 126 pounds as Dylan Armijo won by technical fall over Jadon Lara of Cheyenne Mountain. Trujillo dominated the match from start to finish, winning the TF by a score of 15-0 as time lapsed. Armijo could not get the pin in the allotted time. Armijo won his three other matches by pin fall.

The two second finishers came at 132 pounds when Chris Ortivez of Trinidad lost a close 2-1 decision to Connor Burges of Sierra High in the championship final. Ortivez received a first round bye then pinned his next three opponents putting him into the finals.

At 220 pounds, Caleb Armijo placed second losing by pin to Donavin Bedburdick of Sierra in 1:32. Bedburdick received two byes in the tournament while Armijo wrestled three matches before the finals, winning them all by pin in a minute of less.

The last top placer was Jesus Diaz at 170 pounds, who finished third. He won by forfeit over Boley of Cheyenne Mountain. In the semi-finals, Diaz lost by pin to Jared Smits of Doherty in 3:32.

Several other Miners competed. They included Daniel Ravilla (126) going 0 for 2. Brenden Harmen (132) went 0-2. Fernando Porras (138) went 3-2. Portas defeated teammate Chris Ryan by pin in 41 seconds and by fall over Jai Matherly (Coronado) in 2:29. Also at 138, Ryan went 0-2. Dilan Villa (143) went 1-2. Villa’s win came in a 28 second fall over Mac Parkman (CSCS). Clayton Pierce (152) went 0-2. Chance Wiening (160) went 1-2. His one win was by fall over McKenna Reynolds (Air Academy HS) in 1:03. Jimmy Torres (160) went 1-2. His win was by an injury default over Joseph Ellison (Simla Varsity). Jordan Cooley (170) went 1-2. His win was also by forfeit. Wyatt Wiening (182) went 3-2. Wiening won by fall over Jack Irgens (Cheyenne Mountain) in 36 seconds and by fall over Tyler Higbee (Palmer HS) in 1:23 and Tyler Baldwin (Air Academy HS) in 33 seconds.

Latest from Community

Baxter Black

Heifer’s Hood Ornament I read somewhere that the average “practice life span”
Go to Top